Let It Be

Watching the strings concert reminded me of my time in the concert band and guitar. Kind of missed those times. Music was my salvation and once upon a time, my life. Upon coming to poly, I wanted change. Hence I didn’t sign up for a performing arts CCA. Not going to lie, I really really do miss it. Other CCAs are fun too but it’s just not the same you know? I will eventually return to performing arts one day in the future. As of now, I shall enjoy in my non-performing arts phase. I have rediscovered my love for classical and performing arts concerts. If you guys found those kind of concerts and want to go but there’s no one to go with, ASK ME hahahaha. Hearing the Phantom Of the Opera brings back memories from the concert band I went to when I was younger. Though I can’t remember which secondary school it was, I remember the venue was Victoria concert hall. The concert was great, I remember being so awestruck by their performances.

I feel a tiny bit of regret regarding my love for guitar. I wasn’t fond of it when I was learning it. But somehow after not playing it for more than a year, I feel like I’m ready to take it up again. I’ll try my best to find time to re-learn! I don’t believe I have no affinity for guitar. I think I just needed a right teacher to teach me. And speaking of teachers, Mr Er continues to be one of the teachers aka conductors that I really really came to respect. No words can describe my experience in the concert band because of him. He may be strictest conductor in the world, but he was the reason why I loved and valued band so much that I actually looked forward to every cca session. I played the tuba in the band. At first I hated it. It was just so….big and I didn’t like how I couldn’t bring home because the instrument was simply too big to carry it home. But Mr Er made me change my mind about it. I don’t really know how to describe it, but his passion towards music was really intense. And I think that led me to love my instrument in time as well. I still wish I could have a smaller instrument to play back then but nothing can replace tuba in my heart now. I really loved my time in band. Performing arts had such an impact in my life especially the time when I joined the concert band. I don’t know how to describe it but the feeling when you produce great music, it’s simply just phenomenal.

Oh man, I really love performing arts.

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent” 
― Victor Hugo

Leave a Reply

